The Friends of Covington

  • Facebook - White Circle


Beautification Awards

Congratulations to all the winners!

See photos of the winning properties and get inspired to beautify your own block!


Beautification Awards

Nominate your neighbor or yourself for our 2020 Beautification Awards!

See award rules and guidelines here.

Take a look at our 2019 award recipients here.

We look forward to receiving your nomination and discovering new ways our fellow residents are beautifying our city!

T-shirts for sale

Show your support for the Friends of Covington and get a Looking Good In The Neighborhood shirt before they are gone!

$20 per shirt plus $5 postage. Sizes available X-S, S, M, L, XL, 2XL.

Email to buy.


Since 1989, the Beautification Awards have been presented annually to Covington residents, who through their efforts to beautify their properties, enhance the quality of life for us all.



From 1989-2019, the Friends of Covington has made it a point to acknowledge individuals, who through their time, effort and resources, have made Covington a better place.  Our past recipients are a long list of Covington's best and brightest.

The 2019 award dinner was on May 16 at 5:00. We were proud to honor Normand and Lisa Desmarais for their contributions to our city. 

Emcee Tom DiBello and FOC Board Member Tahli Mays with honorees Norm and Lisa Desmarais.


1989--Ralph V. Haile, Jr.

1990--William P. Butler

1991--Benjamin L. Bernstein

1992--Judith G. Clabes

1993--David Fox Stolberg

1994 Merwin Grayson

1995--Bishop William A. Hughes

1996--Arlene Gibeau

1997--Gary R. Bricking

1998--Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III

1999--Anthony N. Durso

2000--Mary Middleton

2001--Reverend William Mertes

2002--Mary S. Northington

2003--Mike Mangeot

2004--Thomas A. DiBello

2005--Bernard Moorman

2006--Eva and Oakley Farris

2007--Otto M. Budig, Jr.

2008--Charles B. Eilerman

2009--David C. Herriman

2010--Jane D. Purdon

2011--Ralph A. Drees

2012-- Jim and Donna Salyers

2013--Wally Pagan

2014--Dennis Williams

2015--Justice Donald Wintersheimer

2016--Judi Gerding

2017--Emily Wolff and Paul Weckman

2018--Jeanne Schroer

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 12.54.31 PM
Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 12.24.10 PM
Mother of God church
Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.04.55 PM
Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 1.02.32 PM


The Friends of Covington is this city's original cheerleading organization.  Since 1987, a group of like-minded individuals who saw the the historic beauty and promise of Covington banded together to form the organization. 

Like many urban cities across the country, Covington had experienced tough times in the latter part of the twentieth century.  Friends of Covington stepped forward to trumpet the city's virtues and help to rekindle its former vibrancy and luster.

Over the years, this organization has kept the faith and is thrilled to be part of a tremendous renaissance. We invite you to join us!

Friends of Covington Board of Directors

President--John Niland

Vice President--John Mieling

Secretary--Greg Paeth

Treasurer--Sue Corken

Linda Carter

Megan Clere

Don Mays

Tahli Mays

Jill Morenz

Shane Reuscher

Sandy Rigger


We'd like to hear from you!

Sign up to get notifications about our latest events and happenings!


Better yet, contact us to find out about joining our board!  We want YOU!!

Our monthly board meetings are held at the Hellman Creative Center, 321 W. Martin Luther King Blvd. (12th. St.), Covington, KY  41011.  They are on the second Monday of every month at 6:30.

  • Facebook - White Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now